Google+ Australian Cricket Team – Profile : Cricket Freaks

Australian Cricket Team – Profile

by on February 2, 2010
in Australia

australian cricket team

Australian Cricket team is four time world champions who have won four World Cups and in the process they have created history of winning the World Cup for three times consecutively in 1999, 2003 and 2007. They beat Pakistan in World Cup final of 1999, India in World Cup final of 2003 and beat Sri Lanka in World Cup final of 2007. This successful stream of win for Australia was due to marvelous leadership of Ricky Ponting who with his cricket vision and calm strategy always made it possible for Australia to win from any given point in the match. After winning the 2007 World Cup, Australian cricket team has undergone tremendous changes with new faces in batting and bowling lineups. One of the best Australian bowlers who has created much hype in cricketing circle is Mitchell Johnson who has got everything a winning team would want. Some of the best Australian bowlers in the current squad for 2015 Cricket World Cup include names such as Nathan Lyon, Starc, Siddle and White. As for batting, some prominent names that can be fairly dangerous for opponent teams include Michael Clarke, Baily, Rogers, Smith, Faulkner, Davind Warner, Hodge and Marsh. 

Their fielding is considered to be one of the best in the cricketing world. The Australian domestic cricket is full of promising cricket players who are currently warming the bench but can provide a punch whenever required. But, they lack in the spin bowling department where they haven’t got a consistent spinner after retirement of legendary spin bowler Shane Warne. The Australian cricket team has also shown some inconsistency in recent times that needs improvement.  Australian cricket despite facing some trouble with form and winning streak cannot be completely written off for winning Cricket World Cup 2015

Share Your Thoughts