Google+ ICC Champions Trophy | Cricket Freaks

Highlights of ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Champions trophy- Winners and records by players in ICC Champions TrophyThe ICC Champions Trophy is recognized as the second important ODI Cricket event arranged by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was started in 1998 as the ICC Knock-Out Tournaments which were straight knock outs without pools, and each loser of a game had to eliminate.  Later in the year of 2002, it was titled as the ICC Champions Trophy and from 2009; the tournament started involving the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months earlier to the event. The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was declared the last event of its kind although there was upbeat response to the tournaments.

The first two tournaments were played as Knock-Out Tournaments in 1998 and 2000 and were meant to lift up the outline of the sport in the host countries of the events (Bangladesh and Kenya).

Let’s have a quick look at the ICC Champions Trophy tournaments held so far:  Read more..