Google+ Highlights of ICC Champions Trophy : Cricket Freaks

Highlights of ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Champions trophy- Winners and records by players in ICC Champions TrophyThe ICC Champions Trophy is recognized as the second important ODI Cricket event arranged by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was started in 1998 as the ICC Knock-Out Tournaments which were straight knock outs without pools, and each loser of a game had to eliminate.  Later in the year of 2002, it was titled as the ICC Champions Trophy and from 2009; the tournament started involving the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months earlier to the event. The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was declared the last event of its kind although there was upbeat response to the tournaments.

The first two tournaments were played as Knock-Out Tournaments in 1998 and 2000 and were meant to lift up the outline of the sport in the host countries of the events (Bangladesh and Kenya).

Let’s have a quick look at the ICC Champions Trophy tournaments held so far: 

ICC Knock-Out Trophy (2000)

The ICC Knock-Out Trophy tournament 2000 was held in Nairobi, Kenya. Besides the host country, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh, and England were some significant teams of the tournament. Three qualifying matches were played prior to the quarter finals while the final was played between India and New Zealand where India lost the game.

ICC Champions Trophy (2002)

Sri Lanka hosted ICC Champions Trophy 2002. There were a total of 12 teams participating in the event. Virender Sehwag was the top batsman of the tournament with 271 runs while Muralitharan was prominent as the maximum wicket takers with 10 wickets. The final of the ICC Champions Trophy was jointly won by Sri Lanka and India.

ICC Champions Trophy (2004)

The ICC Champions Trophy 2004 was won by West Indies.  The championship was similar to a knockout series where teams were being eliminated with even a single match losing. 12 teams including England, Pakistan, Australia, and West Indies participated in the tournament. West Indies won the title by defeating England in the final.

ICC Champions Trophy (2006)

The event of 2006 was organized in India with a new format of the tournament where eight teams were subsequently divided into two groups of four in a round robin opposition. Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, Australia, West Indies, Bangladesh, and South Africa were included in the 12 teams participating in the competition. The final of 2006 ICC Champions Trophy was played between Australia and West Indies where Australia won the series after an interesting game.

ICC Champions Trophy 2009

The tournament of ICC Champions Trophy 2009 was postponed from the year of 2008 due to security reasons in the host county Pakistan.  However, the situation could not come in the favor of Pakistan and the event was finally held in South Africa in 2009.

Australia won the final by beating New Zealand and became the winner of the ICC Champions for second time. The winner won the match by 6 wickets, in merely 45.2 overs of the game.

ICC Champions Trophy (2013)

The last edition of ICC Champions Trophy 2013 was mutually hosted by England and Wales where India, Sri Lanka, South Africa and England won qualifying matches of the tournament. The final of the Champions trophy was played between India and England where India hit England by 5 runs.  Ravindra Jadeja was declared as the match of the match. The player also received the “Golden Ball” for taking the most wickets. Shikhar Dhawan won the “Golden Bat” for scoring the most runs in the tournament. He was also declared the man of the series for his outstanding performance.

Share Your Thoughts