Google+ Most Centuries in Cricket World Cup History-World Cup Wise and Nation Wise : Cricket Freaks

Most Centuries in Cricket World Cup History-World Cup Wise and Nation Wise

by on December 21, 2010
in Records, World Cup

5 kapil-dev

Most Centuries in Cricket World Cup History

Scoring a century in cricket world cup for his country is a dream of every batsman. Cricket world cup has seen many centuries since its advent. Many batsmen came and played the cricket world cups but few of them are known for their best performances with consistency. Most centuries in Cricket World cup are registered by four great players, which include Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Ricky Ponting and Mark Waugh. All these players have scored 4 centuries each in Cricket World Cup. Based on number of runs scored through 4 centuries, India’s cricket guru Sachin Tendulkar stands on the top slot. Sachin Tendulker has put up 556 runs from his 4 centuries and still counting. We would be watching him in the forthcoming Cricket World Cup 2011. Let’s see whether he would be able to register a new record of highest centuries in Cricket World Cups or not. On runs count, next is Saurav Ganguly of India with 513 runs of 4 centuries.

Here are the record holders of centuries in the World Cup event history:

1975 Cricket World Cup – Glenn Turner (New Zealand) made two centuries, 171 runs not out against  East Africa and 114 runs vs India.

1979 Cricket World Cup– Vivian Richards* (West Indies) made 138 runs against England

1983 Cricket World Cup – Kapil Dev* (India) 175 runs against Zimbabwe

1987 Cricket World Cup – Geoff Marsh (Australia) scored two centuries, 110 runs against India, 126 runs   not out against New Zealand.

1992 Cricket World Cup – Rameez Raja (Pakistan) made two centuries, 102 runs not out against West  Indies, 119 runs not out against New Zealand

1996 Cricket World Cup – Mark Waugh (Australia) scored three centuries which are 130 runs vs Kenya, 126 runs vs India and 110 runs vs New Zealand.

1999 Cricket World Cup –  Rahul Dravid* (India) made two centuries, 104 runs not out vs Kenya and 145 runs vs Srilanka

2003 Cricket World Cup – Saurav Ganguly (India) scored three centuries, 112 runs not ou Namibia, 107 runs not out vs Kenya and 111 runs vs Kenya

2007 Cricket World Cup – Mathew Hayden (Australia) made three centuries, 101 vs South Africa, 158 vs West Indies and 103 vs New Zealand

*Other players in the tournament also scored same number of centuries but the batsman is selected on number of runs scored over and above the 100 mark in a match.

Most Centuries in Cricket World Cup-Nation Wise

Yet again it’s Australia! It is the only nation in cricket world that possesses a lot many records in its briefcase. Coming on to Cricket World Cups, Australia has dominated across the board. Since the inception of Cricket World cup, Aussies are the toppers in scoring most centuries up till now. Australian batting has scored 22 centuries during 1975-2007 Cricket World Cup tournaments. Mark Waugh has made four centuries for Australia in the discussed tournament.  Next stands India with second highest number of centuries in Cricket World Cup. Indian batsmen have scored 15 centuries to date. From India, Sachin Tendulkar and Saurav Ganguly are the leading century makers with four centuries each. Pakistan and west Indies comes on the third slot with 13 centuries each scored by their respective strikers. Now as the Cricket World Cup 2011 is in the offing, we would certainly be looking at the probable centuries by Aussies, Indians and Pakistani batsmen.

Share Your Thoughts