Google+ Sana Mir in Focus – Short Biography of Pakistan Female Cricket National Team Captain : Cricket Freaks

Sana Mir in Focus – Short Biography of Pakistan Female Cricket National Team Captain

Sana Mir

Women’s cricket is getting more and more popularity, and the national team of Pakistan can be commended for making a big progress from its founding, as until today it has managed to win two consecutive gold medals at Asian Games. This was majorly due to the captaincy of Sana Mir, one of the best women’s cricket players out there.

Mir was born in 1986 and decided for a cricketing career while being a full-time student. Her batting style is right handed and her bowling style is right arm offspin. Mir made the ODI debut in 2005 in the game against Sri Lanka national team and went on to show her full potential in 2008 when she put in a brilliant performance at the 2008 Women’s cricket World Cup qualifier, where she was given the Player of the Tournament award.

This didn’t go unnoticed, and Sana Mir was offered to captain Pakistani national team at the 2009 women’s World T20I World Cup. Before that, she was the vice-captain of the team, before Urooj Mumtaz stepped down to give her the captaincy. Nain Abidi took over the duty of a vice-captain, but Pakistan failed to secure a win at the World Cup.

Still, Mir remained the captain of the team and it has proved to be a great move. In 2010, Pakistani national side played in the Asian Games and managed to go all the way and win a gold medal. The team repeated this success four years later when they won another Asian Games gold medal in Incheon, South Korea. Under Mir’s captaincy, Pakistani national side also managed to secure their first victories in both T20 and ODI World Cup events.

Sana Mir

Sana Mir was the first women ever awarded with PCB Woman cricketer of the year award in 2013. She is ranked on the top 10 list of women’s ODI bowlers, according to ICC Player Rankings, and has been in the top 20 for over 10 years now. In male cricket, Mir states that her favorite players are Jonty Rhodes, Waqar Younis, and Imran Khan. She is not affiliated with any political party and is devoted to playing cricket.

Share Your Thoughts