Google+ Fidel Edwards | Cricket Freaks

West Indies Cricket Team – Profile

by on February 5, 2010
in West Indies

west indian cricket team

West Indies cricket team has already won two cricket World Cups in 1975 (opening World Cup) and 1979. But, current team does not stand anywhere in comparison to those teams. Even though the current West Indies team can surely challenge the teams, but they are less likely to win World Cup 2015. The skipper Chris Gayle is a key point for the team who can score quickly and can turn match on his own. Ramnaresh Sarwan and Shivnaraine Chanderpaul are two other batsmen who can score easy runs. Dwayne Bravo is a very good all rounder who can score runs as well as can take wickets. Dinesh Ramdin is a very good wicket-keeper and can score some runs too. The bowling attack is headed by Fidel Edwards and Kemar Roach is a new prospect who has impressed many with his bowling skills.

West Indies is standing at 8th place in the ICC rankings for the One-Day Internationals. Sometime back,they faced the issue of contracts and due to that reason, they had to send their second string team to play against Bangladesh and West Indies lost Test as well as One Day series. This loss has cost too much to the West Indies cricket team and except Chris Gayle, nobody has shown consistency after return. West Indies won the ICC T20 championship in 2012 but the inconsistent performance has left West Indies pretty much a lagging team. But let’s hope for the best for West Indies in 2015 ICC Championship

The T-20 Dream Team 2009

by on October 27, 2009
in 20Twenty Cricket

Who would be in the T20 dream team?

The current ICC top 11 T-20 players that would make up a “dream team” contain 11 men that are all proven players capable of incredible, match winning, cricketing performances. They are Ravi Bopara, Chris Gayle, Suresh Raina, David Hussey, Kumar Sangakkara (C), Ross Taylor, Roelof van der Merwe, Fidel Edwards, Shahid Afridi, R P Singh, and Lasith Malinga.

The batting would be opened by the devastating pair of Ravi Bopara and Chris Gayle. Read more..