Google+ Suresh Raina | Cricket Freaks

Popular/famous Indian cricket player: Suresh Kumar Raina

Popular/famous Indian cricket player: Suresh Kumar Raina
  • Suresh Raina is a left-hand batsman of Indian cricket team. Raina is pretty good in hitting into unusual areas like midwicket and extra cover.
  • Suresh Raina made his ODI debut in Indian national cricket team on July 30, 2005 against Sri Lanka. Raina has played 203 ODI matches, scoring 5051 runs at an average of 35.82 at a strike rate of 93.22. He has scored 16 fifties and 3 centuries so far in ODI. Highest score of Suresh Raina is 116. He has scored 32 fifties and 4 hundreds in ODI games. 
  • Suresh Raina made his test debut against Sri Lankan cricket team on July 26, 2010. So far, Rain has played 17 test matches, scoring 768  runs with 120 being his highest score. His batting average in test cricket is 28.44 with a strike rate of 53.29. Raina has scored seven fifties and one century in test cricket format. 
  • Since year 2008, Suresh Raina averages 38.98 with a strike rate of 96.38 in 75 ODIs.
  • The batting average of Raina in chase is 43 whereas batting first, Raina averages at 29.68.

Highlights of player records:

  • He is the second youngest captain of Indian cricket team.
  • He is the only Indian cricket player who has centuries in all three formats of cricket including test, ODI and T20. 
  • Raina scored a century on his test debut. 
  • Suresh Raina also holds the record for playing most ODIs before making a debut. 
  • Raina is a third batsman in the world for scoring a century in T20.
  • He is the 12th Indian player to play 200 ODIs
  • Raina is the 11th Indian player to score more than 5000 runs. 
  • As for his records in IPL, he has taken most number of catches 52.
  • Also he is the second world and first Indian cricket player to hit 100 sixes in IPL. 

With such impressive records and performances, Suresh Raina is definitely a great asset for Indian cricket team. He is an absolutely brilliant fielder and is usually in his top notch form. 


ICC World T20: Most Centuries by Middle Order Batsmen

Famous cricket players of West Indies: Chris Gayle Read more..

Indian Cricket Team – Profile

by on February 2, 2010
in India

indian cricket team

Indian cricket team is the defending champion of Cricket World Cup 2011 and seeing their form, India is still a promising contender for winning cricket world cup 2015. Indian team is known for having a never ending batting line which is quite frustrating for the opponent teams. Even the Indian bowlers can be dangerous in any given point with their bat abilities.  They have vast experience of genius of the game in the leadership of the coolest team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. They have the class of Yuvraj Singh and consistency in bowling of Mohammad Shami and Bhuvenshwar Kumar.

In the recent times, they have the conquered the places like Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand, and England. The only point that has been a hurdle in India’s success has been its inability to play class innings on foreign pitches as India is known for being a master class on their home pitches.  But since the country is defending its title so one can expect some extra effort on their part to perform at their best form in 2015 Cricket World Cup.

When it comes to fielding, Indian cricket team has players like Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli as well as they have the strong bench strength which can perform under any kind of pressure. When it comes to batting, names like Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Dhoni, Gambhir, Pujara and Rihanne pose a serious threat to opponents. 

The only weaker side of India that could backfire is addition of Ishant Sharma in the squad since Ishant has been drastic with his performance from 2013-2014. He could be an expensive bowler for India. However let’s see what India choose as part of their squad for 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup

The T-20 Dream Team 2009

by on October 27, 2009
in 20Twenty Cricket

Who would be in the T20 dream team?

The current ICC top 11 T-20 players that would make up a “dream team” contain 11 men that are all proven players capable of incredible, match winning, cricketing performances. They are Ravi Bopara, Chris Gayle, Suresh Raina, David Hussey, Kumar Sangakkara (C), Ross Taylor, Roelof van der Merwe, Fidel Edwards, Shahid Afridi, R P Singh, and Lasith Malinga.

The batting would be opened by the devastating pair of Ravi Bopara and Chris Gayle. Read more..