Google+ Cricket World Cup History : Cricket Freaks

Cricket World Cup History

by on December 28, 2010
in World Cup

World Cup 1975

Cricket World Cup 1975-Cricket History

The dawn of 1975 brought the introduction of Cricket World Cup to the cricket fans around the globe. The official name of the first world cup was Prudential Cup (as it was sponsored by Prudential Assurance Co), which was held from June 7, 1975 to June 17, 1975 in England. Eight countries participated of which 6 countries were test playing nations. Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan & West Indies were the test playing countries while Sri Lanka & East Africa was not given the test cap at that time. The tournament was divided into two groups each having four nations. Top two teams from each group played the semis and the semi final winners subsequently played the final. Unlike the current system of  ODIs of 40 overs, the world cup match was of 60 overs with conventional white kit and red ball. Final o the World Cup 1975 was played between Australia and West Indies under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd at the historical ground of Lords, England. West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs and lifted up the First Cricket World Cup trophy of 1975. The concept of Man of the Series was not introduced in those days, so there was no Man of the Series. West Indies under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd came out the winner of First Cricket World Cup.

Cricket World Cup 1979-Cricket History

History repeated itself as West Indies did it again at Lords, England. The second Cricket World Cup was again lofted up by Clive Lloyd by thrashing England on 194 runs; West Indies scored 286 for 9 wickets. Yet again the format of the tournament was the same as of 1975 World Cup Cricket with eight teams playing in a set of four countries in two groups. The top two winners from each group marched into the semi finals and from there onwards the winners of semis moved into the grand finale, the final. There was no Man of the Series in 1979 world cup as well.

The Cricket World Cup 1979 (Prudential World Cup1979) matches were also of 60 overs in traditional white kits and red ball. Australia, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, East Africa and West Indies were the participants who played against each other during June 9-23, 1979 in England. West Indian Cricket Team of the 1970s and early 80s was probably the best Cricket Team Ever. So much so that a lot of Cricket Fans believed that West Indies Cricket Team will win the World Cup before even the tournament started. 1975 and 1979 Cricket world cups were among the first few One Day Cricket tournaments, which actually paved the way to the sport’s popularity in next decades.

World Cup Cricket 1983-Cricket History

Cricket World Cup 1983 (Prudential Cup 1983) was the third consecutive for England as a host where India won laurels by clutching the first World Cup trophy to the Sub Continent. India annihilated the dream of West Indies of winning the cup third time in a row. Kapel Dev’s  India beat West Indies at Lords, England by 43 runs where India scored 184 all out in 54.5 overs, Windies in the chase were all down on 140 in 52 overs. Superb bowling skills were delivered by the Indian bowlers smashed the world class batting of West Indies, where Mohinder Amarnath was awarded as ‘Man of the Match.’ There was no ‘Man of the Series’ in 1983 world cup. There were eight nations battled against each other on the English soil. Australia, West Indies, India, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Zimbabwe were the participant nations. East Africa was replaced by Zimbabwe and did not take part in Third Cricket World Cup 1983. The matches were still of 60 overs with white kit and red ball. This world cup Cricket, the third world cup was a special one. This was the first World Cup won by a team other than West Indies. West Indian Cricket Team were the strongest team in the first three World Cups.

Cricket World Cup 1987-Cricket History

The Sub Continent (India and Pakistan) was honoured to host the fourth Cricket World Cup (Reliance World Cup 1987), which was the first ever to be held outside England. The tournament was limited to today’s standard of 50 overs from previously played 60 overs. However; the overall format remained the same as of 1983 World Cup. India hosted 17 matches at 14 stadiums while Pakistan hosted 10 matches at 7 stadiums. Eight nations participated in the event in groups of two having four countries in each group.

Group A included:




New Zealand

Group B included



Sri Lanka

West Indies

The Eden Gardens Calcutta, India has seen the most nerve-wrecking final ever in the history of Cricket world Cup between Australia and its arch rival England. Under the captaincy of Allen Border, Aussies beat the English by 7 runs. David Boon was awarded Man of the Match. West Indies failed to perform well as they did not even qualify for the semis. Hopes of Pakistanis and Indians were conked out to see a final between India and Pakistan due to poor performance of both the teams in semi finals. Pakistan lost the semi final of 1987 Cricket World Cup to Australia. Indian Cricket Team lost to England.

Cricket World Cup 1992- Cricket history

It was a once in life time chance and Pakistan ruled the Cricket World Cup 1992 by defeating England by 22 runs at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Australia. The sturdy performance of Javed Miandad and skipper Imran Khan with bat and magical bowling of Waseem Akram and Aqib Javed turned tables in favor of Pakistan. Waseem Akram was declared ‘Man of the Match.’ It was a dream come true for Pakistanis. Pakistan came from the down and out situation under Imran Khan’s captaincy to claim the title. 

Australia and New Zealand hosted the fifth Cricket World Cup (Benson and Hedges World CUP 1992) from February 22, 1992 to March 25, 1992. Colored Kits and white balls were introduced alongwith black sightscreens. Whereas, several world cup matches were played under the floodlights. In case of rain affected matches, the rules were changed for the calculating of target score for the chasing  batting line, which remained controversial throughout the tournament especially the semi final played between South Africa and England where South Africa despite good scoring faced sudden death to this rule and England marched into the final. South Africa was allowed to play its first World Cup after the Apartheid. Nine countries participated which include Australia, India, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Zimbabwe, West Indies Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Cricket World Cup 1996-Cricket history 

India and Pakistan hosted the sixth Cricket World Cup (Wills World Cup 1996) second time alongwith Sri Lanka, which not only participated as host but also won the Cricket World Cup 1996. Srilanka beat Australia by 7 wickets at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan. Aussies gave a target of 247 in 50 overs on the loss of 7 wickets, which was achieved by Srilanka in 46.2 overs with three wickets down. Aravinda de Silva’s match winning performance led Srilanka to win the title. Aravinda de Silva was awarded Man of the Match on his outstanding 107 with bat and 3 wickets on 42 runs with ball.Sanath Jayasurya was declared as ‘Man of the Series.’

The tournament was played at 37 different venues in Pakistan, India and Srilanka during February 14, 1996 and March 17, 1996. Furthermore, The number of participating nations increased from 9 to 12 as U.A.E, Kenya and Netherlands debuted in 1996 Cricket World Cup.

Group A consisted of

  • Australia
  • India
  • West Indies
  • Sri Lanka
  • Zimbabwe
  • Kenya

While Group B comprised of

Share Your Thoughts