Google+ Golden Time of Cricket Teams: Pakistan 1989-1992 : Cricket Freaks

Golden Time of Cricket Teams: Pakistan 1989-1992

by on December 12, 2011
in Pakistan, Records, World Cup

1992 Cricket world cup victory, Imran Khan

A notorious selection it was, perchance. Pakistan, despite all their victories, has never shown resilience and consistency, even during their 1992 World Cup triumph.  They flirted with the game during the league matches in 1992 World Cup. Had the downpour not interceded soon after the Pakistani batting line up was sent to the pavilion for just 74 by the Englishmen, Pakistan would have been out from the tournament. As it was the superb captaincy of Imran Khan, Javed Mianadad’s optimum dexterity and Wasim Akram’s magical in-swingers that produced some unforgettable moments of Pakistani cricket to grab the crystal the trophy.

The killer combination of two ‘W’s –Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis along with some  irrepressible performances by  Javed Miandad, Salim Malik, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Aamir Sohail, Pakistan possessed all the ingredients to dominate the game during 1989-1992.

During 1989-1992 Pakistan not only ruled the cricket world but also they won The Champions Trophy by defeating West Indies and India in UAE. Furthemore, a memorable performance of Pakistan at The Nehru Cup where the green shirts defeated Australia, India, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka on the Indian soil. The Australasia Cup (India, Bangladesh, Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand were defeated) and The Wills Trophy (again defeating West Indies and India) played in UAE were some of the memorable moments of Pakistan cricket history.

In 1992, Pakistan won the cricket world cup as well. It was a well earned win. Pakistan in the beginning of the tournament looked down and out as most of the bowling squad was either not playing or was unfit. Imran Khan the captain was not completely fit. Waqar Younis was left behind due to his injury. Other pace attackers other than Wasim Akram were also not fit. Javed Miandad was facing a stomach ailment. However, after losing first few matches, Pakistan got it together and ended up winning the cup.

Share Your Thoughts