Google+ Most Player of the Match Awards in Test-ODI-T20 and World Cup Cricket : Cricket Freaks

Most Player of the Match Awards in Test-ODI-T20 and World Cup Cricket

by on January 18, 2011
in Records, Test Cricket


Most Player/Man of the Match Awards in Test Cricket  

The superb knack of the game and extremely well thought out timing of Jacques Kallis for cricket has led him to earn the most ‘Player of the Match’ awards in the history of test cricket. Proteas’ finest all-rounder has earned twenty two ‘Player of the Match’ awards to date. His recent performance against India in the second Inning of the test match where he scored his 40th century makes him worth winning the title of ‘Player of the Match’. Following is the list of top cricketers who have been awarded most ‘player of the Match’ award in test cricket.

Player of the Match

Country Span Matches No. of Awards
Jacques Kallis South Africa 1995-2011 145 22
Muttiah Muralitharan Srilanka 1992-2010 133 19
Wasim Akram Pakistan 1985-2002 104 17
Shane Warne Australia 1992-2007 145 17
Ricky Ponting Australia 1995-2010 152 16
CEL Ambrose West indies 1988-2000 98 14
Steve Waugh Australia 1985-2004 168 14
Sachin Tendulkar India 1989-2011 177 14
Kumara Sangakkara Srilanka 2000-2010 94 12
Ian Botham England 1977-1992 102 12


Most Player/Man of the Match Awards in ODI Cricket  

Sachin Tendulker is not a new name in the cricket record books; most often we see a new record under his belt. This one too goes to his prowess in the ODIs. Sachin Tendulker holds the record of most “Player of the Match” award in One day Internationals. He is being presented this award 61 times since his debut in 1989 and he is still going. Next to follow him is Srilanka’s legendary batsman and all rounder Sanath Jayasuriya who have achieved the title ‘Player of the match’ 48 times. Following is the list of most ‘Player of the Match’ awards.


Country Span Matches No. of Awards
SR Tendulkar India 1989-2011 443 61
ST Jayasuriya Srilanka 1989-2009 444 48
JH Kallis South Africa 1996-2010 307 32
IVA Richards West Indies 1975-1991 187 31
SC Ganguly India 1992-2007 311 31
BC Lara West Indies 1990-2007 299 30
PA de Silva Srilanka 1984-2003 308 30
RT Ponting Australia 1995-2010 352 30
Saeed Anwar Pakistan 1989-2003 247 28
AC Gilchrist Australia 1996-2008 287 28


Most Player/Man of the Match Awards in T20 Cricket  

With extreme dexterity, excellent timing of the ball and a match winning improvisation of the game makes Srilankan batsman Sanath Jayasuriya a star performer a cricket arena. He is one player who is always in a hurry to put a heap of runs on the score board.

Sanath Jayasuriya has won 6 ‘player of the match’ awards in T20 cricket and is on top slot.  Although Shahid Afridi equates him in terms of awards as he has also won 6 titles, the number of awards to the matches played ratio is better in case of Jayasuriya. Following is the list of cream of the crop at the T20 internationals.

Player of the Match

Span Matches No. of Awards
ST Jayasuriya Srilanka 2006-2010 30 6
Shahid Afridi Pakistan 2006-2010 42 6
CH Gayle West indies 2006-2010 20 4
KP Pietersen England 2005-2011 30 4
RN ten Doeschate Netherlands 2008-2010 9 3
BAW Mendis Srilanka 2008-2010 19 3
DJG Sammy West indies 2007-2010 19 3
Umar Akmal Pakistan 2009-2010 21 3
Yuvraj Singh India 2007-2011 23 3
NL McCullum New Zealand 2007-2010 25 3


Most Player/Man of the Match Awards in World Cup Cricket  

With exceptional talent against any bowling attack Sachin Tendulker is one man who excelled in all formats of cricket. His significant contribution to cricket has enabled him to earn a status of an academy for new entrants who want to excel in batting. With loads of cricket records in his bag, yet another record is there for him i.e. the most ‘Player of the Match’ award in Cricket World Cups to date. He has earned this ward 8 times. Following is the list of ‘Player of the Match’ award winners in Cricket World Cup tournaments.

Player of the Match

Share Your Thoughts