Google+ Squad of Pakistan Cricket Team for Asia Cup 2010 : Cricket Freaks

Squad of Pakistan Cricket Team for Asia Cup 2010

by on June 15, 2010
in Asia Cup, Pakistan

Asia Cup 2010

Asalam O Alikum, Namoshkar, Kohomada and Namaste! Doesnt it sound Asian? A big yes to all the cricket lovers as the ‘Truely Asia Cup 2010’ is just around the corner. The participating teams include Men in Green Pakistan, Bangali tigers, India and Sri Lanka who is going to have the advantage of home ground. Sri Lanka is hosting the Asia Cup 2010. The tournament is going to start from June 15 and will end on June 24, 2010. The heat in Asia is going to be at peak. But who would miss an opportunity to see India and Pakistan against each other in this tournament?

This tournament was established in 1983 for promoting the goodwill among the Asian countries. The inaugural tournament was played in 1984 in Sharjah, UAE. The venue for this tournament keeps changing. Sri Lanka and India have won this tournament four times, which makes them lead in Asia Cup. Along with the four participating teams in the current event, the Honk Kong and UAE also participated in this tournament but are not appearing in this season. So, that makes 6 teams in all in this tournament. So far, the highest number of runs have been scored by Sanath Jayasuriya and the leading wicket taker is also from Sri Lanka, Muttiah Muralitharan.

The true Asia Cup is here with the most unexpected team selection for Pakistan cricket team. The choices made are a perfect blend of experienced players, youngsters, strikers and a long gone fastest bowler of Pakistani cricket history, Shoaib Akhter as well. Surprised? It’s never too late to add up the sizzle in a team. Giving a chance to Shoaib Akhter has been criticized around in a positive and negative manner. One thing to remember is that Akhter, a.k.a Rawalpindi, made his way back into team with his fitness. So worry not Pakistani spectators, as the Men in Green are unpredictable!

The squad of Pakistan cricket team is going to be led by a new captain, Boom Boom Afridi. Another surprise! Yet, don’t be surprised again at the fact that Salman Butt is the vice-captain of the Pakistani team. It sure is a “Surprise Asia Cup” for Pakistan. Let’s have a quick glance at the squad:

• Shahid Afridi (Captain)
• Salman Butt (vice-captain)
• Imran Farhat
• Shahzeb Hasan
• Kamran Akmal
• Umer Akmal
• Shoaib Malik
• Asad Shafiq
• Umer Amin
• Abdul Razzaq
• Mohammad Asif
• Mohammad Aamir
• Shoaib Akhter
• Saeed Ajmal
• Abdul Rehman

They seem like a perfect team who perform at their full capacity. 

Share Your Thoughts