Google+ The Basic Rules of Cricket : Cricket Freaks

The Basic Rules of Cricket

by on October 30, 2009
in Cricket Master Class

Cricket basic rules to know before playing

Throughout the world, especially in Commonwealth countries, there are multitudes of cricket fans. It is the most popular game for many a sports fan but, often, the rules are very difficult for someone who hasn’t grown up with the game to understand.
In each cricket team, there are 11 players, with a 12th man who is permitted to field but not to bat or bowl. During play, there are 13 players on the field, two players on the pitch for the batting side and all 11 on the field for the fielding (or bowling) side. The goal of the batting team is to make as many runs as possible before losing all their wickets or before all the overs are bowled. In Test matches, the overs available to the batting team are not limited but, in one day internationals or T20 events, the overs are limited to 50 overs and 20 overs respectively. The objective of the bowling team is to limit the number of runs scored by the batting team.

The batting team, although consisting of 11 players, have only 10 wickets in hand when the innings commence. This is due to the fact that two batsmen must be present at all times. Therefore, when 10 wickets have been taken, the batting team is considered to be “All Out”.
Once all the wickets have fallen or all the overs have been bowled, it is now the turn of the fielding side to bat and try to beat the score of the team that batted first. Likewise, it is the objective of the team that batted first to try and prevent the team who are now batting from achieving this.
In limited overs cricket, each team has to bat and bowl once. In Test matches, each team has to bat and bowl twice. There are times when the teams may finish on the same score. In this scenario, ICC rules are used to determine the winner.

Share Your Thoughts