Google+ Venues of 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup : Cricket Freaks

Venues of 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

by on January 3, 2011
in World Cup


The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup is in the offing where India, Srilanka and Bangladesh. This is first time for Bangladesh as a co host which has replaced Pakistan. Pakistan’s name was dropped by the ICC from the list of host nations due to the terrorist attacks on Srilankan Team in 2009 and the current law and order situation in the country.

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be held in 13 cities across the board. The stadium/venues for ICC cricket world cup are:

  • Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – Bangladesh
  • M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai – India
  • Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmadabad – India
  • Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur- India
  • Suriyawewa Stadium, Hambantota – Srilanka
  • Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi – India
  • R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo – Srilanka
  • Eden Gardens, Kolkata- India
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore – India
  • Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali – India
  • Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium, Kandy – Srilanka
  • Chittagong Divisional Stadium, Chittagong – Bangladesh
  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai – India

It is important to note that in any previous occasions when World Cup Cricket was organized in South Asia, Pakistan has always been a part of the hosting nations. This time around, due to security issues, matches were not organized in Pakistan. Situation in Pakistan is moving towards a steady improvement and soon Cricket at home will be back in Pakistan.

Overall, the matches were played in the 3 host countries. To make it easier for the teams, their group level matches were played in one country. India played all its matches in India. Bangladesh and Srilanka played up to knock out rounds in their own country. As Srilanka qualified for the semi final and then the final, the team had to fly in to India to play the final. Before that, all matches of Srilanka were played in Srilanka. Considering the security threat Pakistani team faced, they played all their league matches in Srilanka in Cricket World Cup 2011.


3 Responses to “Venues of 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup”

Share Your Thoughts