Google+ From Test to ODIs and to T20: T20 Cricket World cups 2008 and 2009 : Cricket Freaks

From Test to ODIs and to T20: T20 Cricket World cups 2008 and 2009

With the advent of the T20 cricket, the test cricket bonanza and ODI extravaganza is fading out. Especially the survival of test cricket in the wake of blitzing T20 cricket is becoming bleak. Now with the hectic life and busy routine, most of the people are not ready to forego their precious time for long duration games like test cricket. For instance, if we look at soccer, the match finishes in 90 minutes or so and this is the key reason of its worldwide popularity. On the contrary, test cricket requires endurance, adept and sound techniques at a mass level.

The evolution of ODIs was on the back of bringing the cricket playing session to one day to attract the masses did materialize; however, the pundits of the cricket still consider test cricket as the real game.

The point to be noted is that no one can stop the transition of any game. With the passage of time, new formats of the game are introduced; rules are changed and older versions are forgotten. This phenomenon is not with cricket itself, all games are prone to this. The important thing is what people want and enjoy? In today’s fast pace life, people love to watch sports that yield utmost exhilaration and thrill in limited time. Therefore, the ascendancy of T20 cricket is inevitable.

Strikers like Mathew Hayden, Shahid Afridi, Chris Gayle, MS Dhoni and Adam Gilchrist are a treat to watch at any T20 game, as they have remained the record makers in the T20 Cricket. Whereas players like Misbah-ul-Haq, Ross Taylor and Dilshan Tilakaratne have performed exceptionally well, due to their adept techniques of the game. Best pacers in T20 cricket are none other than like R P Singh, Mark Gillespie, Dale Steyn and Umer Gul, who have excellent bowling figures in this hard hitting game.

ICC T20 Cricket World cup 2008

It was the nerve wrecking moment on September 24, 2007 when the history was going to be written. India and Pakistan were at loggerheads in the final of the first ever T20 World Cup. Pakistan needed 13 runs in the final over with last wicket in hand where Misbah-ul-Haq was on the strike. The first ball of the over was claimed as a wide ball, every Pakistani eye just sparkled once Misbah hit a huge six over long off. All were on their toes as each Pakistani was desperately waiting to cherish a historic victory over archrival India. Misbah strike for a scoop to fine leg and he was ‘CAUGHT!’ by Sreesanth. The gamble of Skipper Dhoni on just starting out Joginder Sharma won laurels to them as India won the First T20 World Cup, outclassing Pakistan in nail biting final.

The first ICC World Twenty 20 was played in South Africa from September 11, 2007 to September 24, 2007 where 12 teams participated (including the entire test cricket playing nations) in this tournament. The other two teams were Kenya and Scotland who came to contest for the cup on the back of their excellent performance in WCL Division One 2007 Tournament. Irfan Pathan grabbed Man of the Match title on three wickets for 16 runs where Shahid Afridi was awarded as Man of the Series.

T20 Cricket World Cup 2009

Finally, the countdown to the much awaited T20 Grand Finale has ended and Pakistan became the T20 World 2009 Champion. Pakistan Captain Younus Khan was much happy and satisfied at his team’s collective efforts and appreciated them. He also announced that this might be his last T20 international tournament. Shahid Afridi was declared Man of the Match while Tillakaratne Dilsan was the man of the series for being the top-scorer.

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets with top scorers being  Shahid Afridi (unbeaten on 54) and Kamran Akmal (37). Pakistan chased the total of 139 just for the loss of 2 wickets. Afridi assaulted Sri Lankan bowlers, mainly Muttiah Muralidaran and Isuru Udana, by hitting consecutive 6’s and 4’s to both of them. Even Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka was unable to impress the Pakistani batsmen. Shahid Afridi hit the winning shot and was held high by his delirious team mates. The Pakistani supporters at the ground were enthusiastic throughout the match and supported their team well.

Earlier, Sri Lanka scored 138 for 6. Top scorers were Kumar Sangakkara (64 not out) and Mathews (35) who led their team to a reasonable final score of 138. Tillakaratne Dilsan, the top scorer of the tournament, was the first wicket that Sri Lanka lost. Abdul Razzaq was magnificent after his return to the national side and played a vital role in the final victory, claiming 3-20 leaving Sri Lanka 4-32 after the 6th over.

Pakistan won’t be playing at home ground in the near future but they had once again proved their presence in the world of cricket. Pakistan lost the T20 World Cup 2007 Final against India by just 5 runs but this time they made it to the goal of winning the trophy. Although, Pakistan was in much trouble to reach the Super 8 level at one stage but the world then saw the best from this team afterwards.

Pakistan being in T20 World Cup Final was not ordinary piece of news for the people of Pakistan. A nation, suffering the troubled span of terrorism, being denied of happy times for a long time was in much need of a happy event to arrive and Pakistan’s victory gave them something to be proud of. It was 11 pm in Pakistan when the final match ended but people came out on the roads and celebrated their team’s victory by dancing, embracing, and congratulating each other on the streets. A marvelous firework display was also seen at Lahore and Karachi.

T20 Cricket women World cup 2009

England created history in women’s cricket by hosting first ever ICC T20 Women World Cup 2009 on its soil, alongside men T20 world cup 2009. This was the first ever occasion when both men and women will be competing for the respective cups simultaneously.

Taunton is honored to host the group matches for T20 Women Cup, which will start from June 8, 2009. The warm up matches will be played on June 8-9, whereas the group games are scheduled from June 11, 2009 to June 16 2009. The T20 Women World Cup semi-finals will be played on the same day, same venue as of men semi finals at the Oval and Trent Bridge. The grand finale of the women ICC T20 world Cup 2009 will be played on June 21, 2009 at Lords as a forerunner for the T20 World Cup men’s final.

Once compared to the men’s event where hard hitting is the key to success, women too need some specialization in this regard. Although women cannot hit as hard as men can, the style and technique do count in order to win laurels. Currently it is difficult to say who will be crowned however; England team will be enjoying the advantage of home ground. Whereas, Pakistan, Australia and India have all potential to do wonders.



None found.


2 Responses to “From Test to ODIs and to T20: T20 Cricket World cups 2008 and 2009”

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose